Don’t Quit!

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 8.17.38 AM“Success is failure turned inside out, the silver tint of the clouds of doubt…”

In the near future I’ll have the opportunity to speak with many teachers at the beginning stages of their teaching careers, both locally through a partnership I’ve established with Barb Van Hatten and her Lakehead University Faculty of Education students and provincially at OECTA’s Beginning Teachers Conference.

Looking forward to these engagements got me thinking back to my first year of teaching at St. Elizabeth School some 18 years ago! I was lacking in resources, experience and confidence. I was overwhelmed with planning, managing a class with many behavioural, emotional and academic needs. Although I wanted to make a difference in each of my students’ lives, I felt like I was failing them.

After about two months of struggle, I happened across a poem tucked into the back of the desk left behind from the retiring teacher I had taken over from. It helped me refine and further develop a mindset that helped get me through my first year of teaching and other difficult and trying times in my life.

Know a teacher, student or friend who you think would appreciate the “Don’t Quit” poem? SHARE it with them!

 

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Quit!

  1. Melissa jensen says:

    My dad used this poem his first year as a real estate agent thanks for reminding me of it. I will need it as I start my new position in grade 5 this year

    Like

Leave a Reply

