Project: ConnectED

Screen Shot 2015-10-31 at 9.27.37 PMI believe in the power of connections and that our ideas are only as good as the people we share them with. I have an incredible network of educators throughout the world that I learn and share with every day.

THE IDEA

When working on the One Word project with my students at the beginning of the year, I established a single word goal for myself as well. My word is EMPOWER, which got me thinking again about my extensive PLN and how they empower me! So, in my first attempt to explicitly empower others, I reached out to our local Faculty of Education with an offer to connect my class with profs and their students…. our future teachers!

THE PLAN

Although there was much initial interest, Barb Van Hatten and I quickly established a common desire and enthusiasm to connect our students in the interest of learning and sharing beyond the walls of our classrooms. We met face to face, exchanged numerous emails and I had the pleasure to meet her class, introduce my class and present the idea for our project. By leveraging the positive power of social media (Twitter), our future teachers were now connected and learning from my students without even stepping in the door. They had learned how to open a “window” to my classroom. The possibilities were endless! Now, with a renewed vision for the growth of this project, I created a Google Doc:

Screen Shot 2015-10-31 at 9.18.01 PM

THE SHARE

It was time to reach out to my PLN, a group of Ontario teachers who I knew to be connected, innovative, risk takers who were sharing the incredible things happening in their classrooms with the world.

Brian Aspinall, Laurie Azzi, Aviva Dunsiger, Allison Fuisz, Sharon Moskovitz and Jonathan So were all quick to reply to my idea and expressed a desire to help lead and grow (when the time is appropriate) the idea of “Project: ConnectED”!

THE GROWTH

We hope to grow this worldwide, in attempts to break down our classroom walls and establish a global community of “Connected Classrooms” If you are a connected teacher, a prof at a Faculty of Education or a future teacher, we encourage you to join! Don’t wait, an open window can connect you to the world! Visit the Project: ConnectED Doc, leave me a message or tweet me to get started! **Please note you do not have to have an initial connection to get started, we can help!

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Project: ConnectED

  1. Pingback: OTR Links 10/27/2015 | doug --- off the record

  2. HJ.DeWaard says:

    Would love to connect my students through this resource – I’m located at Lakehead in Orillia so the connection would build relationships across the waters of the Great Lakes.

    Like

    • mrcameron14 says:

      Will definitely get you and your students connected with some incredibly innovative classroom teachers and their classes. Will email you. Please share our idea with your colleagues!

      Like

Leave a Reply

