Who is Sam R?

Sometimes a simple question can open a world of learning.Screen Shot 2015-10-18 at 8.38.50 AM

Last year I sat beside a teacher at  the On the Rise conference in Toronto. We introduced ourselves and after a bit of small talk he asked, rather hesitantly, if I knew Sam R. I said that I didn’t and he persisted. Apparently, everyone else at the conference knew him and he had helped them integrate technology to redefine what they were doing in the classroom!

Ah, S-A-M-R!  Ya I knew Sam R, except he is not a person, SAMR is a technology integration model created by Dr. Ruben Puentedura. Coincidently I had just finished developing my own graphics to help me better understand the model and to put it into action. I shared the graphics and the link to my webpage ‘Thinking SAMR’ where educators from around North America and Europe had engaged in a rich conversation/debate about the model, precipitated by my own question.

After a fifteen minute discussion he thanked me and told me he was grateful that he had asked (in his opinion) a pretty embarrassing question. We all need to continue to ask questions, for it is by questioning that we grow. The older we get, the more reluctant we are to ask questions because there is an understanding that we should know more, but in fact, the more I learn, the more questions I seem to have.

I wonder how many other people in the world are still wondering who Sam R is.

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

