The more we learn, the more we QUESTION?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately… about questions.Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 10.39.56 AM

My six year old never stops asking questions!

This year, more than ever, I’ve been asking a lot of questions and so have my students!

I believe, that the more we learn, the more questions we should have. I have embraced an inquiry approach to learning in the classroom where I’m encouraging my students to learn, experience, research, read and ASK QUESTIONS!

Inquiry based learning requires a shift from traditional teaching practices where I am  no longer the giver of content and the master of information. I take on more of the role of a lead learner,  guider and “questioner”. This requires the letting go of control. For me this is not so easy, I tend to be a control freak! But it feels good and it feels right! I look forward to coming to school each day to learn, explore, adventure, read and ask questions and I’m pretty sure my students do too!

Below are some examples of the questions that have resulted from our learning.

Thoughts? QUESTIONS?

Guiding Questions for our Science Inquiries

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 6.40.12 AM

Math Questions Resulting from our Trip to the Dump!

 Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 1.41.31 PM

IMG_1886

Questions Recorded in Adventure Logs during Landfill Tour 

IMG_1839

More Landfill Math Questions

Math Questions Inspired by our Visit with Renowned Explorer, Pen Hadow

Developing Questions before a Google Hangout with Renowned Diver Jill Hienerth 

Working on Math Questions based on our Read Aloud, ‘Wonder’

 

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

