Our Students have the tools to SHAPE their FUTURE!!!

Screen Shot 2015-10-24 at 7.58.23 AM

Thanks to fellow ADE’s Jenny Grabiec and  Ross Cooper for inspiring this blog post.

This morning I received a notification about a chat that caught my eye. #Satchathack would be having a “Back to the Future” inspired chat about the past, present and future of education! Some pretty deep stuff!

Screen Shot 2015-10-24 at 7.27.38 AM

I remember, with fondness, sitting in the movie theatre with my buddies at the ripe old, very impressionable, age of fourteen watching which was to become one of my favourite movies of all time; ‘Back to the Future’.  For me, the movie was a fantasy, where the main character was doing things that would have a direct impact on the future. To me, this was impossible because I believed  at my age I could never do anything to impact my future.  I didn’t have a time machine and I certainly didn’t have the means to spread my ideas anyway.

 Things sure have changed in thirty years! Some for the better and some for the worse. The biggest difference between now and then, I believe, is that children now have incredibly powerful real tools at their fingertips that can shape their future and change the world.

We are at a critical time in the history of education. Never have our resources been so vast and so powerful!

How are you teaching your students to use technology to positively impact the present and shape their future?

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

