What RESONATES with you?

As I was preparing my students to travel on yet another adventure with “Exploring by the Seat of Your Pants” I could feel the excitement building! “Where are we going?” “Who will we be meeting?” “What will we be learning?” “Who’s coming with us?” I could barely contain my own excitement. I LOVE adventure! And then I shared this video with my young travel companions…

The proverbial lid blew off the pot! “We’re going to meet her!” “She’s from Australia!” “She’s crazy!” “She’s cool!” The stage was set! There would be one more sleep until our next adventure! My students went home with their Adventure Logs and a HomeSHARE assignment to formulate good questions for the incredible person we would be meeting on our next trip.

The next day arrived and upon driving to the airport to meet my students, I was informed that the highway bridge was closed due to an accident! Ah!! I didn’t want to miss THIS trip and my class was scheduled to “take off” at 10am. I had little time to spare. A phone call was quickly made to our principal and he assured me that he’d contain my happy travellers until I arrived. My students were depending on me, I held the “ticket” to our adventure. My son and I ventured through the back rural roads of Thunder Bay and as I drove, we enjoyed the scenery and the adventure that had happened upon us. After dropping Kai off at his school, I breathed a sigh of relief. I’d make it to my class with time to spare at 9:40!

I found my students eagerly waiting in the departure section of my classroom with their Adventures logs in hand. They were packed full of great questions in anticipation of our trip. I quickly reviewed the travel protocol and encouraged my students to find something during our trip that resonated with them. Blank stares. We discussed what the word “resonate” meant and someone said, “It’s kinda like what sticks with you!” There was an “ah ha” moment! They got it. They were ready to take off. Just as we were departing, a couple of surprise guests arrived. @filipetti and Mr. Donato, joined just as I was clicking on our golden ticket to start our learning journey. The trip did not disappoint. It was well documented and can be viewed here:

We all learned a lot from you, @KrystleWright You inspired, motivated, challenged and empowered us. Your words and our trip with you resonated with us…

Thank you Joe Grabowski at Exploring by the Seat of your Pants for creating amazing opportunities for our students to travel and learn far beyond the walls of our classroom.

Thanks to my students who making learning fun and adventurous everyday. You all inspire me. Thank you also for your input and contributions to this blog and for helping me to compose and edit my thinking. YOUR voice matters!

Wonder where our learning journey will take us tomorrow….

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What RESONATES with you?

  1. Pingback: A couple of projects | doug --- off the record

Leave a Reply

