Our Ideas are Only as Good as the People we Share Them With

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 6.49.27 AMIn an attempt to reflect upon and refine my own Twitter use, I recently blogged “A Little Twitter Etiquette: To Tag or Not To Tag”. I tweeted out the blog in an attempt to get feedback and tagged a few people whose opinion I valued. The input I received was invaluable as I continue to try to innovate to become a better teacher and person. I thank everyone who contributed to my learning.

Quite honestly, five years ago I never thought I’d be using Twitter, blogging or creating websites. But something in me changed and I was inspired by the many educators who had taken to social media to freely share their learning, resources, thoughts, ideas and questions. That took courage! So I dipped my toe into the scary waters of social media. I stood in awe as a flood of great information freely came my way. Being on the receiving end of resources was great but I was also being encouraged to share some of my own ideas. Giant leap again!

But I was ready! At the halfway point in my career I needed and wanted more. For the first 10 years of teaching I wished more people would offer to share and I was too proud to ask. In the next 5 years of my career I hoarded my best ideas, lessons and resources. That was wrong. I helped no one but myself. So five years ago, my question became “How am I going share?” I did my research, came up with an idea and had a plan. It was time for action and with that I launched my website Mr. C’s SharesEase where I would freely share my best resources, ideas and lessons. The best part? The website highlighted my students’ work and provided teachers with student exemplars. My students now became empowered as their work started to permeate far beyond the walls of our classroom.

Fast forward to today, where my students are now very much a part of our connected classroom We have created a blog: Mr.C’s SharesEase Blog in which my students and I write to share and explain the happenings within our classroom. We have also become impassioned with using technology to make a positive difference in the world and have created a M.A.D (Make a Difference) Innovation Model to guide us. The top part of the model is SHARE.  We believe that if we share our ideas we might truly make a difference.

That said, our model has reflection as a key component to innovation. Last week’s blog and many peoples’ input allowed me to reflect on my practise of sharing. The point was made that: “‘Good work has legs’ it has a momentum of it’s own“. I do agree with this point. But, with the technology we have available to us today and in the spirit of collaboration, why not give good work a little more momentum by leveraging technology to make an even bigger difference? Our ideas are only as good as the people we share them with.

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Ideas are Only as Good as the People we Share Them With

  1. HJ.DeWaard says:

    Your story reflects elements of my own progression toward connecting and connectED teaching and learning. You mentioned the challenges and taking the ‘giant leap’. That’s the hardest part. Not knowing what will result or if your words will resonate or echo, not even knowing if anyone is out there, reading what you write.
    For our students, we have to take that leap and let them watch, learn along with us, see our reflective practice in action, especially when we stumble, make a mistake or have an ‘aha-moment’ in a visible forum! Maybe it’s our humility and inner introvert that makes us reluctant to shout out or share. But your writing calls us to move past that and keep putting ourselves outside of the comfortable zones and into the spotlight in social media spaces. Our students deserve it – and they’re watching! Our actions will speak louder than words!

    Like

Leave a Reply

