In Response To ‘Are you an Educator? Do you use Twitter?’

This blog is in response Colleen Rose’s post ‘Are you an Educator? Do you use Twitter?’ Visit her blog and read all the responses to her great questions. My response is below:

Hi Colleen! I’ve enjoyed the many thoughtful responses! Thought I’d add my 2 Twitter cents!

Q1 When did you “get connected” on Twitter? I joined Twitter in the spring of 2013 to connect with a group of Apple Distinguished Educators I’d be meeting and working with in Austin, Texas. I had never used any type of social media before that point and was, in fact, quite opposed to it!

Q2 Why do you still use Twitter? It has allowed me to learn, grow, share and connect in ways I never dreamed possible. Being a connectED teacher has allowed me to create a ConnectED classroom for my students. Their work and voice permeate far beyond the walls of the classroom. Being connected has empower and impassioned both my students and myself. Here’s a peak inside our ConnectED classroom:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPDN8wO4vzY I’m passionate about modelling the powerful, positive, responsible use of social media to our students. I believe their generation can do a much better job of using social media than ours has. Imagine if our kids use it only as a vehicle to spread good news and goodwill! Here’s a bog I wrote on “Ideas for Using Twitter in the classroom”: https://mrcssharesease.wordpress.com/twitter-ideas-for-the-classroom/

Q3 Did anything confuse you about using Twitter? Yes, at first, everything. However, the patience, practise and time was well worth it.

Q4 Do you know how to use a hashtag? Why are they useful to you? Yes, I know how to use the hashtag and my students and I have created some of our own. #SharesEase #KCups4Classrooms #ConnectEDt #NWOTchat I find using hashtags allows us to extend our “reach” when tweeting out our ideas, work and math challenges. I also follow and use hashtags to find and connect with subject/location specific educators and content. There’s also the (somewhat) controversial “tag”… https://mrcshareseaseblog.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/a-little-twitter-etiquette-to-tag-or-not-to-tag/ I personally do sometimes tag people in tweets, but am cognizant of whom I tag.

Q5 Who are your favourite people to follow? Here is my list of “Twitter Must Follows”: https://mrcssharesease.wordpress.com/twitter-must-follows/ which was created by eliciting input from educators. Feel free to add yours!

Q6 Were there any moments when Twitter enabled you to make connections that weren’t possible before? Uh… ya! I’m writing this response as a result of following @dougpete who posted your blog on his and because I was connected with you via twitter was enticed to read your blog. Now with your permission, I’d like to post my response to your questions on my blog with a link to your blog and perhaps even tweet it out….

Q7 Have you used Twitter for any sort of professional learning? I’ve learned more from being connected on Twitter than any other means of professional development x100.

Thanks Colleen, for the opportunity to once again reflect on my use of Twitter and for allowing me to share! Best of luck with your workshop!

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

