When a Child Arrives Late to School…

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 10.05.05 AM

Teachers have the power to make children want to come to school or to stay away.  I believe that no child wants to arrive to school late. Walking into a classroom after the bell has rung can uncomfortable, daunting and even humiliating.  If we are empathetic to the needs of our students and not our own teacher agendas, we will always greet our students with a smile and a “welcome” or “good morning”. We never know what it takes for some children to get to school.

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When a Child Arrives Late to School…

  1. S Styan says:

    Starting the day with a warm and inviting greeting really sets the tone for a safe and caring environment. Ideally, the classroom community is strong enough that this warm greeting extends beyond the teacher. Once, when talking with a grade 2 student who is habitually late, she told me “I really don’t like when my friends tell me that I’m late. I already know I’m late.” While I greeted her with a smile and a “Hey____! I’m really glad you are here!” her friends were greeting her with “________, come on, you’re late again.” Sometimes my positive message gets overshadowed by a negative peer message

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

