A GLOBAL Welcome Back!

Last year, to help welcome my students back to school and to get them excited about the possibilities of life in their ConnectED classroom, I created a “global welcome Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 10.06.25 AM
back”bulletin board. I asked teachers throughout the world to tweet my students a welcome message with words of encouragement and to include their city and country. The results were amazing! My students arrived on the first day to read over 75 messages from around the world and we continued to receive even more tweets throughout our first week. We tracked all the messages, recorded and analyzed the data and graphed the results. We also located the different places on our world map. This activity set the stage for an incredible year of learning, awe and wonder.

This year, I’m hoping to do the activity again, with a few additions. I’m hoping that
teachers will tweet my students a welcome message with words of encouragement, advice or a favourite quote and to consider including a video or picture as well. Get creative! Don’t forget to include your location. I will then create a Storify of all the tweets and share it with my students on the first day of school. We’ll work with the data in math and I’ll create a Google map for my students to complete a scavenger hunt, of sorts, where they’ll locate all the places in the world and then pin your tweets to the map!

Please tweet us your welcome back message today and encourage others to do the same. Thanks for helping to model  the positive power of social media and teaching my students that they are very much a part of a connected community of learners!

 

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A GLOBAL Welcome Back!

  1. Norah says:

    What a great welcome back to, and learning experience for, your students. No video, sorry, but I’m happy to tweet! 🙂

    Like

  2. Adam Hill says:

    Amazing idea! Look out for my tweet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

