Where to Start?

There’s always so much I want to do to begin the school year. I want to get my students excited about learning and make them want to come to school every day. I want to encourage them to be reflective and to set goals. I want them to look within themselves and realize their gifts and dreams. I want to build a strong community where they are comfortable to be themselves, takes risks, fail and learn together.  I want my students to know that they will make a difference.

So…. where to start? I’m always trying to think of new and innovative ways to begin the school year. Last year I started by Introducing Wonder, however I’m not sure I can pull this off again! I’ll definitely share, as I always do, the most important lesson I learned on one of my first days of school.

I’m definitely looking forward to continuing with an activity I started last year: The Global Welcome Back. Throughout the first week of school I’ll have my students read welcome back tweets and words of encouragement from teachers and students from around the world. Three of my favourite lessons to start the school year are the SMART Name Wordle, the One Word Project and Compliment Booklets.

This year, to introduce (board) game based learning in my classroom, I’ll have my students create their own avatar, board game token and logo.

I gotta say I’m excited! Hopefully my students will be too!

How will you start the new school year? Have a great idea, resource or lesson to share? Feel free to share it in the Comments section or tag me in a tweet @cherandpete and include #SharesEase.

Enjoy the new school year!

-P

 

 

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

