First Podcast: Success, Failure and Climbing Mountains!

Recently Derek Rhodenizer invited me onto his podcast to discuss PBL. We never got that far, we couldn’t get off the topic of failure! Derek asked me point blank what failure was and after a bit of thinking I responded that it was an opportunity to learn. From there the podcast simply unfolded and a great discussion ensued. It seems that Derek and I can talk forever! The conversation spilled over to our mutual Twitter PLN and Derek wisely started the hashtag #whatisfailure to archive the great conversation.

And then it happened….with the conversation still fresh on my mind and with many ideas still spinning in my head, my students and I googled: “Inspiring poems on courage for kids”. What transpired was simply one of those crazy “AH HA”  moments we all love to experience as teachers. I wanted to blog about it to get my ideas down as soon as possible. The problem was, I couldn’t. I simply didn’t have enough time. So took a deep breathe and attempted my first podcast. It’s raw, unedited and certainly not perfect. But I make no apologies. The purpose of the podcast was to allow me to get my  thoughts down, reflect and learn. I’m happy to share them with you and as always, appreciate your input.

 

 

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Podcast: Success, Failure and Climbing Mountains!

  1. Dylan Smith says:

    Peter, your stated goal was to get your own ideas out, and only you can define your success. But as an observing member of your audience, I’d suggest your first podcast can only be deemed successful because you found courage to try something new which no doubt moved you off a self-defined starting line. Congratulations! I intend to follow up with a reflection…

    Like

  2. Dylan Smith says:

    In recent years, there have been growing movements to promote the place of creativity through K-12, and apply emerging technologies with workplace authenticity. This has generated an increase in the value educators ascribe to innovation, and therefore risk-taking. These trends have been strongly promoted on social media platforms, and have left teachers feeling happily obliged to pass along progressive values in their classrooms. It’s all good, as they say.

    Predictably, we’ve also seen a growing acceptance of failure. And while I think educators and even stakeholder groups have been quick to understand that re-framing failure as a virtue can be a healthy and valuable practice, I need help sorting out the ethics of this movement as it relates to adopting “the latest thing” in our own professional practice. Is one’s personal acceptance of failure ethically sound in a profession where others more vulnerable than ourselves are also involved? I don’t see other professions so quick to implement untried innovations and accept failure with the stakeholders they serve. Please understand I don’t think we are doing anything terribly wrong. But could some say we are stepping too far in glibly experimenting with a bustling marketplace of approaches and technologies? Put another way: Can the idea of accepting failure be taken too far too quickly in professional practice?

    Like

Leave a Reply

