Preparing for THE TEST!

I’ve been working hard to prepare my students for THE TEST all year. Here’s a check list that I created for myself in August while planning and looking forward to the new school year and the TEST I’m responsible for preparing them for.

TEST PREP CHECKLIST

___ Teach kids the value of school. Get them excited about coming to school EVERY day.

___ Get kids curious about learning. Teach them how to ask questions that will challenge their thinking and mine.

___ Teach kids how to fail forward, to make mistakes, learn from them and to become even  better people.

___ Get the kids outside to enjoy and appreciate their natural surroundings.

___ Get kids active. Show them the value of daily physical activity.

___ Teach kids how to think, not necessarily what to think.

___ Teach kids how to problem solve, not just in math, but in life.

___ Challenge kids to think outside the box/book/text/test.

___ Model to kids the positive power of social media.

___ Have kids understand how they can leverage tech to have a positive impact on their lives.

___ Show students the value and wonder of the arts. 

___ Create opportunities for students to learn mindfulness techniques.

___ Provide opportunities for self reflection and goal setting.

___ Provide rich opportunities for kids to gain a deep understanding of the many global issues our world is faced with. 

___ Empower my students to be agents of change.

___ Encourage rich dialogue which spark debate and differences of opinion.

___ Read! Provide time for self selected independent reading everyday. Show kids that books can take them anywhere.

___ Create a sense of adventure and risk taking in the classroom.

___ Break down the walls of my classroom and “take” students on trips that span the globe.

___ Connect with parents. Continue our learning beyond the classroom. Have the students bring their learning  home.

___ Have kids understand that math is all around them. 

___ Connect with people and invite them to speak with kids about their jobs.

___ Give students a voice that permeates beyond our classroom walls.

___ Have kids understand who their most important connections are.

___ Teach kids how to make informed choices when selecting the tool(s) they will leverage to demonstrate their learning.

___ Teach kids how to be difference makers! Give students many opportunities to make positive differences for themselves, their peers, family members, their environment, their community and the world!

___ Teach kids that they can do anything they put their mind to. 

I think my “kids” are prepared. I’m confident that I’ve done my job to the best of my ability and I feel good knowing that I’ve done my part in helping to effectively prepare my students for THE TEST!

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 10.53.32 AM

 

 

 

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Preparing for THE TEST!

  1. Kathryn MacLean says:

    Bless you! It’s my first year of eqao and I needed that reminder that the stuff I did all year before worrying about next week WAS the important stuff. Beautiful list.

    On Wed, May 17, 2017 at 10:57 AM Mr.C’s SharesEase Blog wrote:

    > mrcameron14 posted: “I’ve been working hard to prepare my students for THE > TEST all year. Here’s a check list that I created for myself in August > while planning and looking forward to the new school year and the TEST I’m > responsible for preparing them for. TEST PREP CHECKLIST” >

    Like

  2. You wonderful man! Love it, Peter!
    Especially at this time of year, every teacher needs a little reminder of what is truly important in the classroom.

    Like

  3. Norah says:

    Great things to teach. I think you’ve got it covered.

    Like

  4. Nancy Cyros says:

    Thank you for reframing what’s important! Lovely reminders. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

