Does the Status Quo Make you Comfortable?

Drawing my learning line (thanks Colleen Rose for the challenge) has really got me thinking about my past twenty plus years as a teacher and the ones yet to come. I realized, in hindsight, that from years ten to fifteen of my career, I hit a plateau. The interesting thing is that if you would have asked me during that time if I believed I was an effective teacher I would answered with a definitive “YES”!

Hindsight, however, allows us to look back to help us move forward. For the first ten years of my career I had worked hard, struggled and put in long hours of planning. By year ten I had developed and refined a program that worked. I was finally able to breathe and became very comfortable. I developed an “If it ain’t broke why fix it” attitude. By being comfortable and satisfied with the status quo had I stopped learning, innovating, moving forward…being successful?

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 11.28.19 AM

 

 

About mrcameron14

I am a Grade 6 teacher of 18 years in Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada. Passionate about sharing with teachers throughout the world. Teaching students how to use technology 4 good and to make a positive difference in the world. Apple Distinguished Educator 2013, SMART Exemplary Educator 2013, Google Educator 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment